When an app is uninstalled, is its SharedPreferences database cleared?

by RockPaperLizard   Last Updated June 12, 2019 21:11 PM

When an app is uninstalled, is the data in its SharedPreferences database deleted?

If not, without a device being rooted, is there any way to clear that data? (Or at least view it?)



Answers 2


SharedPreferences database always deleted when app is uninstalled. but In Manifest
android:allowBackup="true" If allowBackup is true then data is not clear even if application is uninstall then install. so always keep allowBackup false when data do not want store.

user298642
user298642
June 14, 2019 05:06 AM

SharedPreferences are actually saved in a file in the app private directory: /data/data/package_name/shared_prefs/somefilename.xml

When an app is installed this directory and file are automatically created. When an app is uninstalled this directory is deleted along with its parent /data/data/package_name UNLESS the app is uninstalled in order to update it. From command line this is done using the flag -k or -r that is

adb uninstall -k package_name - Keep the data and cache direct­ories around after removal

adb uninstall -r package_name - Reinstall an existing app, keeping its data

Gogu CelMare
Gogu CelMare
June 14, 2019 06:21 AM

Related Questions


Updated April 03, 2015 21:22 PM

Updated July 13, 2015 15:04 PM

Updated July 28, 2015 13:04 PM

Updated September 27, 2016 09:04 AM

Updated June 22, 2016 08:04 AM