I have an AT&T Samsung Galaxy S3 that I would like to sell. In order to maintain my privacy and save important data, I:
However, after all of this (i.e., after Step 5), I went to the S Memo app on the freshly reset phone (S Memo is Samsung's default/stock note taking app on this phone) and found all my original notes (that were created prior to Step 1 above), without the text contents. I could still see the boilerplate picture backgrounds of the notes, and the creation time of all the notes I had created and saved.
How is this possible? I had encrypted and factory reset the phone. Furthermore, I also removed the SIM card.
Should I be worried that other files are also recoverable?