Chronological order of Gold Box games

by Mr. Flay Sepulcrast   Last Updated March 14, 2019 20:14 PM

From 1988 to 1993 SSI released a series of computer role-playing games made with the Gold Box engine.

I would like to know their chronological order of release.

I know Pool of Radiance (1988) was first, followed by Curse of the Azure Bonds (1989), Champions of Krynn (1990) and Secret of the Silver Blades (1990).

I found the correct order of these last two in the book Dungeons and Desktops: The History of Computer Role-Playing Games that states, emphasis mine:

The first of SSI's"Gold Box" spin-offs is Champions of Krynn, released in 1990 for Amiga, Apple II, Commodore 64, and of course, DOS. Chronologically speaking, it was the third "Gold Box" game [...]

I tried searching for the rest of the games:

  • Neverwinter Nights (1991)
  • Death Knights of Krynn (1991)
  • Pools of Darkness (1991)
  • Gateway to the Savage Frontier (1991)
  • The Dark Queen of Krynn (1992)
  • Treasures of the Savage Frontier (1992)

But I have not found more info. Most pages about these games have them usually grouped under their respective trilogies.

So... what's their chronological order of release?

Note that there were also two Buck Rogers games made on the same engine, while I'm not particularly interested in those, maybe it would be nice to have this info for others.

Related Questions

Updated January 15, 2019 18:14 PM

Updated August 06, 2015 17:06 PM

Updated March 28, 2018 15:14 PM

Updated May 30, 2017 04:14 AM

Updated April 11, 2017 17:14 PM